My Dear Friend Lily

This past weekend was a very emotional one for me. Not only did I attend a funeral this past weekend, but I also visited a friend of mine, Lily who is fighting breast cancer. I saw her at a BBQ Sunday in the south side of Chicago. We hadn’t seen each other for a year or so. On Sunday I texted Lily on the way to the BBQ just to let her know I would definitely be there. She texted me in return to warn me that she didn’t look like herself. Not for one split second did I wonder about her appearance. I was more concerned about her progress and simply couldn’t wait to give her a hug and catch up on girl talk. I arrived early and anxiously waited for her arrival. I kept picturing the same 23 year-old girl I met five years ago at Orozco Academy. My image of Lily will always be the confident, Kourtney Kardashian look-alike in heels and manicured nails. I will forever picture the same good friend that was at mother’s funeral and constantly called to make sure my family and I were alright. She has always been a caring and supportive friend.

I want Lily to know that no matter the circumstance or situation, I always see her as the same girl I met five years ago. She’s still beautiful.

Leave a Reply

